Dear Readers

First, I want to thank all of you for visiting my blog. I’m sorry I haven’t been posting regularly and visiting other blogs as I used to. School has been keeping me busy along with other personal issues. I will post as soon as I get some inspiration. In the meantime, you can find me on my Facebook page Whispers of Poetry or on InstaGram @joss_rae76 where I post micropoems and inspirational quotes. Thank you again, and have a wonderful day!


Dark clouds
Hang over me
Blank eyes stare
Nothingness all around

My body numb
As if I’m not here at all
Tears are buried
Too deep

I could let it
Take me now
But the human part
Pulls me forward

I stay—
For them

©Josslyn Rae Turner

Written for Quadrille #18 at dVerse: Poet’s Pub. This week’s prompt is to write a quadrille (44 words) using any form of the word cloud.


Songs from the North

For Song-Lyric Sunday, Helen wants us to share a song that has a reference to nature. The first band I thought of was Swallow the Sun, the melodic death metal band from Finland. Their 2015 triple concept album, Songs from the North I, II, & III, has a recurring winter theme. The second volume entitled, Beauty, is infused with beautiful melodies and dark lyrics. This is the title track featuring ethereal vocals by Kaisa Vala.

Oh Mother North, eyes like blue sapphires
I’m lost in your wilderness, in your arms
From your love my heart has been forged
Eternal nights, to ever-light
To winter’s throne

“Niin laulut Pohjolan kun sammuu, hiipuu hiljaa
Hallatar kun viljaa lyö, ja yö tuo kuninkaan tuon talven maan
Niin routaan kaivtaan, lepoon omaan maan
Ja laulut Pohjolan mukaan vain saan”

Oh Mother North, lakes like blue sapphires
Under your skies, into the wild I drown my sorrows

At the midnight hour of sacred light
The magic of these woods, so alive

The shadows of the giants in a silvery dark light
From the snowy trees ahead
And their slow march closer to the flaming night skies
To touch the tail of fire

But their roots hold the secrets, these melodies
Echoes from the past, nothing here will last
But the songs from your journey
You will bury with your heart.

Swallow the Sun:

Juha Raivio: Guitars
Matti Honkonen: Bass
Markus Jämsen: Guitars
Aleksi Munter: Keyboards
Mikko Kotamäki: Vocals
Juuso Raatikainen: Drums